Removing accounts from Instagram is a hard task to do. Luckily, there is an easy way to do it! You can delete an account completely from the app and still have access to it.
Anyone can make an Instagram account, which means that people you know or don’t know can follow you. You can have personal accounts, business accounts, and group accounts which anyone can join.
This makes it hard to truly delete your account because even if you delete your profile, someone else could pick up where you left off.
By taking away the ability to follow you, you are truly deleting your account. You will no longer be accessible and anyone who wants to find you will not be able to.
Click on the three dots in the top right corner
Next, click on ‘Accounts’ and then ‘Manage Accounts’. This will take you to the accounts section of the app where you can manage your own and other accounts.
Here, you can manage accounts that you follow, as well as accounts that follow you. If you do not want an account to follow you, you can opt to block them.
To take an account off Instagram, all you have to do is untag them. If someone takes down their account, or they are not active on Instagram, then there is no way for them to be re-added as a follower. This is a good way to protect your privacy if you feel like someone is creeping on you or stalking you through the app.
If someone wants to totally delete their account, there are two ways to do this. The first one is by going to their profile and hitting the button that says ‘Delete Account’ at the bottom. That will take them directly to their settings where they can delete their account permanently.
Select “Delete Account”
Once you are in the account deletion screen, you will be asked to verify your phone number and an account verification code via an authentication code sent to your phone.
This is to ensure that it is actually the account owner who is deleting the account. It also prevents anyone from falsifying a phone number to delete an account.
Once these are entered, you will be asked to review your profile one last time before the account is deleted. Once you confirm deletion, it cannot be reversed!
It takes about one week for the account to be completely removed. During this time, you will not be able to log in or access any part of the account. After the week is up, your profile will be deactivated and no longer visible on Instagram.
Type in your password
Next, you will be asked to enter your account password. This is where being very careful comes into play.
Since you are accessing an account through Instagram, the app automatically tries to add this account as a new follower and adds it to your list of accounts. This is a nice feature for when you want to add an account, but it can be dangerous here.
If you add the account as a follower or add it to your list, then it would re-add itself whenever it was deleted! It would be very hard to take down the account completely if that happened.
Make sure that when you enter the password, you do not re-enter it again when confirming deletion.
Check the box saying that you want to delete your account
Once in your account settings, you will find a button to take your account completely off Instagram. You will also find a box that you have to check that says that you want to delete your account.
Once this is checked, you have seven days to actually delete your account. Every day you have to log in to confirm that you really want to delete your account. If you do not log in one of those days, your account will stay and be deleted the next day.
This is a good safety measure so that if you decide to change your mind at the last minute, you still have some time to think about it.
After the seven days are up, your account is deleted and cannot be reversed.
Click on “DELETE ACCOUNT”
Now it is time to actually remove the account. Once you have entered your account information and clicked the “delete account” button, you will be directed to the “delete account” page.
Here you will find a button that says “DELETE ACCOUNT”, click on this button to officially remove your account! It may take a few minutes so stay patient.
Once it is removed, you cannot re-activate this account or any accounts that are associated with this email address. So make sure you are ready to delete this account before taking any actions!
It is not possible to undo the deletion of an Instagram account, so make sure you really want to do this before going through with it.
You will then be redirected to a confirmation page
Once you have entered the account information and verified that it is the account you would like to take off of Instagram, you will be taken to a confirmation page.
This page will ask if you are sure you would like to delete the linked account. If you are sure, click on the blue “Remove Account” button. You will then be directed to another page confirming that the account has been removed.
If you have any hesitation at this point, click on the “Cancel” button. You can then go back and edit your previous actions before hitting the “Remove Account” button.
Once the account is removed, there is no going back.
Confirm that you want to delete your account by typing in your password again
Once you have entered your password, you will be prompted to confirm that you want to delete your account. Once you do this, there is no going back!
If you are sure that you would like to take your account off Instagram, then enter your password again and click the blue button that says “Delete My Account.” It is a bright red one, so you cannot miss it.
After that, you will see a final confirmation message. Once again, if you are sure this is what you want to do, then click the blue “Delete Account” button and it is all over!
It can take up to seven days for your account to be completely deleted. While your photos and videos are automatically deleted immediately after the account is deactivated, some information about the account stays on Instagram’s servers for a few more days.
Click on “DELETE ONE”
Once in the “DELETE ONE” section, you will be given two options: to delete your account immediately or after a few days.
If you are feeling very confident and ready to move on, then go for the immediate delete! If you change your mind, you can still pull up your account to save your photos and info.
If you choose to take a few days to think about it, don’t worry, you can’t change your mind after that! The only way you can stay on Instagram is if you truly decide you do not want your account anymore.
After the set time frame, either way, you will be permanently deleted.
Leave a Reply