Deleting a Google Doc page is possible, but it requires some careful planning. You cannot delete the first page of a document, the last page of a document, or the cover page.
If you want to delete one of these protected pages, you will need to first delete all of the content on that page and then save the document. Once you do that, you can then delete the page.
How do you do that? We will walk you through it here!
You can also not delete a merged sheet in a spreadsheet or tables in a presentation. The same rules apply here-you must first delete all content on the slide or in the table before you can delete it.
Google Docs gives users the ability to re-organize pages and slides, which can be helpful if you make an error and need to go back to an earlier version.
Click on the “More” button in the top-right corner
Once in the document menu, you will see a “Delete” option under the “File” drop-down menu. Click this to reveal the delete button.
Clicking this will bring up a confirmation box that asks you to confirm the deletion. Once again, click “Delete” on this box and your document page is gone!
Be careful when using this feature as it can accidentally delete other pages or the entire document. Make sure to check the box asking if you are sure you want to delete and think about it for a second before pressing “Delete”.
This feature is great for when you need more space or need to reorganize your document.
Select “Delete page”
Once in the “Page settings” section, you can select “Delete page” at the bottom of the screen. You will be prompted to confirm your delete action.
Once you do this, the page will be deleted and cannot be undone. Be sure this is what you want to do before confirming!
If there are edits on the page, a warning will pop up asking if you want to delete the edits as well as the page. This is useful if you have a draft that is not ready to be published yet and you no longer need the draft page.
You can also choose to keep the edit or delete it- it is up to you!
When deleting a page, if there are comments on the page, Google Docs will ask if you want to keep them or remove them. This is useful since comments help others understand more about the document or topic and bring back memories of reading them.
Check the box for deleting history and click “Delete page”
Now that you have deleted your entire document, you can also delete the history of edits made to the document. By default, Google Docs keeps a record of every edit made to a document.
If you make a significant change to the document, like rewriting an entire section, this feature can be useful. You can go back and see how you wrote each section and who helped edit it.
If you make minor edits or corrections, like fixing a typo or formatting the document, then you probably do not want this recorded. It will take up space and may be unnecessary.
You can disable this feature by going to File > Docs settings > Revision history > Disallow revision deletion. Then, go to File > Docs Settings > General Settings > Disable Versioning to turn off all versioning on your Google Doc.
The page will be marked for deletion
Once you have deleted a page, it will be marked for deletion. This means that other users will be warned that the page is about to be deleted and that they should save any edits they have made to the page.
Google Docs has a finite number of saves it allows before it disables editing, which is a good safety measure. Once this limit is reached, the document will be permanently deleted.
This is a great safety feature as it prevents accidental permanent deletion. You will always know when the document is about to be deleted and have time to save any changes you have made.
If you have accidentally deleted a page, you can still get it back by clicking on Edit>Undo Delete Page.
Go to the menu and select “Files”
Next, you will need to go to the “Files” menu. You can find this by accessing the top left corner of the Google Docs interface. There will be a little drop-down menu that says “Files”, click on this to enter the Files section of Google Docs.
Here you will be able to create new files, manage existing files, and share files with other users. You can also edit the settings for sharing here.
Once in the Files section, you can either choose to create a new file or delete an existing one. If you would like to completely delete your Google Doc, then you must first delete the file!
You cannot simply undo a delete action, so make sure you are ready before going through with it. Once deleted, there is no taking it back.
Select the file you want to delete and click more
Next, you will need to select the file you want to delete. You can do this by clicking on the file name or file type.
Once you have done that, click on the drop-down menu next to Edit and select Delete. A pop-up will appear asking if you are sure you want to delete the file. Click Delete and it is gone!
If you have permissions set up, then only those with permission to edit the document can delete it. If not, only the creator of the document can delete it.
This is a good safety measure as it prevents other people from deleting your work. Only someone who has made the document can take it away!
Once again, if you have downloaded the document then you can still delete it even if you cannot edit it.
Select delete and confirm your choice
Once you have finished editing your document, you can delete it. To do this, go to the Docs menu and select Delete. Then select Delete document and confirm your choice.
You can’t undo this action, so make sure you are ready to delete your document. Once you delete it, you won’t be able to get it back. Google doesn’t have a feature to completely remove a document, so make sure it is ready before confirming the choice to delete it.
If you made a mistake and want to save the document before deleting it, then go to File>Save As and save it with a new name. This way you will still have the original file!
When deleting a collaborative document, be sure to talk to your collaborators before confirming the deletion.
Go to drive.google.com and click on the file you wish to delete
Next, click the file you wish to delete and then click the little down arrow on the top-right corner of the file. A drop-down menu will appear. Click “Delete” in the menu to open the delete file screen.
On this screen, you have the option to delete the entire file or only a page within the file. If you only want to delete a page, then select the page and then click “delete”.
Be careful when doing this as you only have a short time to cancel your deletion request. Once you confirm it, there is no going back!
Once you confirm your deletion, your file will be removed from your Google Drive account and your account will be restored to its previous size.
Leave a Reply